ancestoral message

I think about him
his surname calls me
acting  like a medium
that relays messages to him
they don’t root in me

I’m afraid of connection
always runs one way
afraid of being used
not by him
but by them

spoke to them the other night
for the first time
they were present in the trees
felt them staring from the skies
heard their whispers in the wind

telling me to stand by
not run away from him
don’t be afraid to love him
he’s one of a kind
they helped me see

I want to make you
fall in love with me
as I write about you
recite what you see
recite what you breathe

but failed to receive
until you met me
together we’ll say goodbye
to the life you already know
and create a sunrise of our own

Leave a Reply

